Facts of NSMQ 2020 Finals: Adisco vs Legon Presec vs Owass


The finals of 2020 edition of the National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) will take place on Thursday, October 8, 2020. Unfortunately, the drama which comes along with it in previous years cannot be possible due to coronavirus restrictions.

The final contest will feature Opoku Ware School from Ashanti Region, Presbyterian Boys SHS, Legon from the Greater Accra Region, and Adisadel College from Central Region.

Although this year’s program has seen major changes, fans watch the live coverage of the contest on social media.

READ ALSO :  Reopening of schools:Committee tasked to make recommendation submits report.

Opoku Ware School, after being eliminated in the semi-finals last year, has come this year all the way to the finals.

This is the eight times they have reached this feat. They did that in 1995, 1997, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2016, and are currently in the finals of 2020. Unfortunately, out of the previous seven finals, Opoku Ware School has won two, making their finals winning percentage of 28.6%.

READ ALSO :  VIDEO: Teenage Boy Proposes Marriage To His KNUST JHS Girlfriend After Completion Of BECE

Presbyterian Boys Senior High School on the other hand is the highest winning school in the competition.

Prior to today’s contest, Presec has been to eight finals and has won five of them. They have a 62.5% finals winning percentage. Legon Presec were finalists in last year’s competition when they were beaten by St. Augustine’s College. Presbyterian Boys SHS have been in the finals in 1995, 1996, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2013, and 2019.

READ ALSO :  Top Best Free Online Studying Platforms to Study on in 2021/2022

Adisadel College won the contest in 2016.

They were the first school to reach the finals of the competition on four consecutive occasions. Subsequently, Adisadel College has been in the finals four times only, with a winning percentage of 25%.

Will the trophy go to Kumasi, Accra or go back to the Cape Coast?

Awards and honors will be provided after the competition ends. The contest has been scheduled for 2:00 pm.